grief and death


butterfly image

Grief & Loss

The Healing Process: Different Losses

Life and loss go hand in hand. We all have many losses in our lives. Grieving is the process of healing the emotional component of these losses. Feelings of loss are very personal and you are the only one who knows what is significant to you. People commonly associate certain losses with strong feelings of grief.

These can include:

  • Death of a partner or spouse.
  • Death of a child
  • Death of a parent
  • Death of a sibling
  • Death of a pet
  • Death of a friend, colleague, classmate
  • Suicide of a loved one
  • Serious illness, facing personal death
  • Relationship ending breakup, divorce
  • Abortion, miscarriage, SIDS
  • Collective grief, natural disaster, assassination, etc.

Letting Go With Love: The Grieving Process was the first book to distinguish different losses. The chart below demonstrates the relative impact losses have on yourself. Subtle or less obvious losses can also cause strong feelings of grief, even though those around you may not consciously be aware of the extent of your feelings.



Some examples include:
  • Loss of health through illness, accident
  • Facing surgery
  • Moving
  • Loss of a physical ability
  • Leaving home
  • Loss of mental ability
  • Job change, getting fired
  • Graduation from school
  • Loss of financial security
  • Rejection